1 comment

Internet Hall of Fame Announces 2014 Inductees!

April 8, 2014

The Internet Society has announced the names of 24 individuals who have been selected for induction into the 2014 Internet Hall of Fame. Representing 13 countries, the 2014 class of inductees created new technologies and standards that were foundational to the Internet’s development and expansion, pushing the boundaries of technological and social innovation to connect the world. Read the full press release.

“We all benefit today from the contributions of these individuals, who helped shape the global Internet,” noted Internet Society CEO Kathy Brown. “They forged into uncharted territory with innovative ideas, groundbreaking technologies, and collaborative work to connect more people and countries to the Internet. We are delighted to honor these leaders for their foresight, creativity, dedication, and achievements.”

Internet Hall of Fame inductees fall into three categories: Pioneers were integral to the early design of the Internet; Innovators built on that foundation through technological, commercial or policy advances; and Global Connectors helped expand the Internet’s growth and use around the world.

Over the next 12 months, the Internet Hall of Fame blog will chronicle the contributions and insights of these individuals, outlined below, in a series of exclusive interviews.


Douglas Engelbart (US)(posthumous)

Susan Estrada (US)

Frank Heart (US)

Dennis Jennings (Ireland)

Rolf Nordhagen (Norway) (posthumous)

Radia Perlman (US)


Eric Allman (US)

Eric Bina (US)

Karlheinz Brandenburg (Germany)

John Cioffi (US)

Hualin Qian (China)

Paul Vixie (US)


Dai Davies (UK)

Demi Getschko (Brazil)

Masaki Hirabaru (Japan) (posthumous)

Erik Huizer (Netherlands)

Steven Huter (US)

Abhaya Induruwa (Sri Lanka)

Dorcas Muthoni (Kenya)

Mahabir Pun (Nepal)

Srinivasan Ramani (India)

Michael Roberts (US)

Ben Segal (US)

Douglas Van Houweling (US)


Congratulations Dr Ramani for securing a position in the Internet Hall of Fame. You have made all of us in India proud.

NCSDCT, the Centre which took root in TIFR became NCST ( National Centre for Software Technology ) with Dr S Ramani as Director, from 1986-2000. Around 2006, it was merged into C-DAC and now functions as C-DAC Mumbai.

Let me take this opportunity to mention that the Centre did pioneering work also in three other areas Language Technology, Education and Graphics and currently is pursuing R&D and working on many projects of national importance including e-Governance and secure systems under Dr Zia Saquib as Executive Director.

.. Irani Alka

Add new comment

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.